Vienna Districts

If you have no idea which district your place belongs to, see:

… or click a district link below to see places in that district:

Understanding Vienna’s Districts

Vienna is divided into 23 districts, numbered from 1 to 23. The first district (Innere Stadt – Inner City) is the historical centre (within the Ringstrasse – Ring Street). Districts 2-9 are immediately next to Innere Stadt, arranged in clockwise fashion starting from district 2 in the north-east. Districts 10 and higher are further away from the centre.

Vast majority of landmarks and tourist attractions are situated in the first district or very close to its borders. Notable exceptions include Prater (2nd district), Hundertwasserhaus (3rd district), Schönbrunn (13th district) and Vienna International Centre – UNO City (22nd district).

For more detailed explanation of Vienna’s districts, see Vienna Districts Explained.