Rivers in Austria: Thaya, Leitha, Raab, Drau

Find the best hotel deals

FREE cancellation on most rooms





Go back to part 1: Danube, Inn, Salzach, Traun, Enns

The Thaya

The Thaya originates in Austria and flows along the border between Lower Austria and South Moravia (part of the Czech Republic). Its confluence with the Morava River makes a point where three borders meet – Austrian, Czech, and Slovak. The Morava eventually enters the Danube near the Slovak capital Bratislava.

The Leitha and the Raab

The Leitha and the Raab, also known by its Hungarian name Rába, flow from the eastern parts of Austria to Hungary, where they enter the Danube. In the past, the Leitha was the politically important border between Austria and Hungary within the Dual Monarchy of Austria-Hungary.

The Drau

The Drau is the main river in the southern regions of Austria, namely the states of East Tyrol (the dislocated part of Tyrol) and Carinthia. It originates in Italy and from Austria it flows to Slovenia, Croatia, and Hungary, where it joins the Danube. In Austria it passes the cities of Lienz, Spittal an der Drau, Villach, Dieschitz, and Ferlach.

The Lainsitz and the Elbe

The origin of the Lainsitz (Luznice in Czech) is situated in Upper Austria, but the river flows only few kilometres in Austria and then it leaves for the Czech Republic, where it enters the Vltava River (the river in Prague). The Vltava then joins the Elbe and eventually drains into the North Sea.

The Ill and the Rhine

In Vorarlberg there are a few small creeks which enter the Bodensee (Lake Constance) near or in Bregenz, namely Bregenzer Ach and Dornbirner Ach. Bodensee drains into the Rhine and then to the North Sea. The Rhine itself at its entry into the Bodensee forms the border between Austria and Switzerland. Near the Vorarlberg town of Feldkirch and just a few kilometres prior to its entry into the Bodensee the Rhine meets its biggest Austrian tributary, the Ill.