Who Does NOT Need Visa to Austria (by region)

Find the best hotel deals

FREE cancellation on most rooms





Nationals of the following countries do not need visa for entering Austria. The list is sorted by region. You may also see this list sorted in alphabetical order.

Europe – Schengen Area

Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithunia, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco (not a party to the Schengen Agreement, but part of Schengen Area), The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

European Union but not Schengen Area

Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania, the United Kingdom

Europe – outside Schengen Area

Andorra, Croatia, San Marino


Brunei, Hongkong, Israel, Japan, South Korea, Macau, Malaysia, Singapore


Mauritius, Seychelles


Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexiko, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, St. Kitts & Nevis, The United States, Uruguay, Venezuela

Australia & Pacific

Australia, New Zealand

Please note that visa requirements can change and this list might become outdated. To be sure contact the Austrian embassy in your area and in any case start well in advance of your planned departure to Austria, as the possible visa application process can take more time.