Austria Visa Information

Find the best hotel deals

FREE cancellation on most rooms





Schengen Agreement

Austria is a party to the Schengen Agreement. As a result, citizens of all countries inside the Schengen Area do not need a visa to enter Austria and theoretically, they don’t even need a passport, though it is advisable to take it with you (for example they may want to see your passport in some hotels). If you are from a Schengen country, you can stay in Austria as long as you want, there is no limit.

Non-Schengen EU members

Besides people from the Schengen countries, all nationals of the other European Union member states don’t need visa when travelling to Austria, but they need a passport. These countries are: Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania, and the United Kingdom.

Who else does not need visa to enter Austria

People from the following countries also don’t need visa and would get to Austria with only their passport: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Israel, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, and the United Stated (see the full list). The citizens of these countries may stay in Austria for up to 3 months without a visa, but for longer stays further requirements apply.

Who does need visa to enter Austria

Nationals of the countries not mentioned above generally need a visa for entry to Austria. If this is your case, you should apply for a visa well in advance, ideally several months prior to your departure to Austria. The good thing is that a visa for Austria is also valid for entry to all other Schengen countries.