Currency in Vienna & Austria

Find the best hotel deals

FREE cancellation on most rooms





The euro

The official currency in Austria is the euro. Austria has been part of the Eurozone since its inception and ceased using its previous currency, the Austrian schilling, in cash transactions on 1 January 2002 (the accounting currency switched from the schilling to the euro on 1 January 1999).

Banknotes and coins

The denominations of euro banknotes in circulation are 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, and 500. The denominations of coins are 1 cent, 2 cents, 5 cents, 10 cents, 20 cents, 50 cents, 1 euro, and 2 euros. The nice thing about euro coins is that a unique version exists in each country, carrying symbols or portraits of people significant in that respective country. For example, you will find Mozart on the Austrian 1 euro coin, Stephansdom on the 10 cent coin, and the Belvedere palace on the 20 cent coin. Of course coins from all countries are valid in all other countries in the Eurozone.

Austrian collector’s coins

There is a long tradition in minting special collection coins in Austria, mostly for commemorating special events or anniversaries. This tradition has survived till today and there are some euro coins specific for Austria not valid in other Eurozone countries. However, the probability that you come across such coins is low. The face value of these coins usually ranges from 5 to 100 euro. The coin with the highest denomination, 100,000 euro, was exceptionally minted in 2004.